Ampton is a wide, square frame featuring subtle rounded edges together with a smooth bridge line to give the frame balance.
Seven barrel hinges are pin-drilled to our signature Cubitts pins, the only external details we allow.
The Cubitts tag is embedded into the inner temple end piece.
Each pair is crafted from a single piece of Italian acetate and hand polished to gain an enduring finish and colour.
The lenses are made from light, durable CR39 plastic and offer anti-glare and anti-scratch coatings as standard. They are cut to your exact prescription at our British laboratory.
Ampton is named after Ampton Street in King’s Cross, London.
Ampton Street was built on part of the builders’ yard used by the three Cubitt brothers in 1821, on land originally leased by Thomas Cubitt from Lord Calthorpe.
The houses were built with an ingenious handling of brick and stucco to pioneering engineering principles, and still stand today. Thomas Cubitt lived in one of the houses on Ampton Street where rents, at the time, were a mere £5 a year.